15d27db24a352b753f7a5dfafba38561

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Breakdown.”

Most of us have a bad habit that we cannot seem to break, and some of us have more than one. The bad habit that I have tends to be along the lines of telling myself that I cannot do something, and therefore it is not even worth it to attempt. Also: biting my nails, getting upset if something doesn’t go my way, and tuning people out when they are trying to talk to me. But who is keeping count?

Unfortunately, for some of us our bad habits include things like drug and alcohol addiction, smoking, and other such vices. I know that I have a few people in my family, one who has passed and others who are battling these types of habits, who struggle with these issues. I have good news for these people: you do not have to go through this on your own.

“What? I don’t?” you might be asking me. “My family doesn’t even care, and I have nobody on this Earth who even wants to help me.”

This might be true. Not everyone is fortunate enough to have a loving and supportive group of family or friends that they can turn to. Such is the broken ways of this world.

The good news is that there is someone who cares, someone who has been with you through each and every step of this way. Someone who is longing to reach out and give you the help that you need and deserve to have as a fellow human being. Let me introduce you to Jesus Christ.

His power and His grace is sufficient. He is God Almighty. He is omnipotent, omniscient, and omnipresent. As fully human, He can identify with you and all of your pain and suffering. As fully God, He has all of Heaven, Earth, and His own mighty power at His disposal to help you. All that we need to do is humble ourselves where we can admit that we need His help, cry out to Him, and He will be there for you in your time of need.

Reach out to Him today. He’s listening for your call.

Leave a Reply

